AmalGame is a street dance project by choreographer Ford Mckeown Larose bringing together dancers from Montreal of all levels, gender, age and culture. A choreographic challenge aimed at bringing out the cohesion of chaos.

Inspired by the butterfly effect (or chaos theory), the project began in 2017 and has continued to evolve with the beating of wings and the tornadoes they generated. AmalGame 2.0 was a constantly evolving work featuring street dancers giving life, through their movements, to an evolving choreographic creature.

KEY STAGES OF AMALGAME 

In September 2017, after several months of work in collaboration with the UEZ studio, a first version of the project was presented at the Quartiers Danses Festival. It then brought together 11 dancers from 10 to 30 years old. The piece won the Festival’s Best Outdoor Creation Award.

In 2018, a short creative residency at the Chorégraphique O Vertigo Centre allowed the piece to evolve to adapt it to a room with 6 performers. This new version : AmalGame 2.0 was presented in May of the same year at the Vue sur la Relève Festival.

AMALGAME 2.0

In 2019, AmalGame continues with 5 performers. A pivotal year for the project, during which the choreographer and the performers will work for several months, notably on waving techniques, but also on dramaturgy. In June, the team spent a week in residence at Studio 303 and presented a few extracts in the Saint-Michel district: at the Rayons d’Artistes event organized by the borough, at TOHU during FALLA and at the Maison d ‘Haiti. In December 2019, a brand new version of the project was presented at MAI (Montreal Arts Interculturels) as part of the MAD event organized by the company in collaboration with 100Lux.

The project flew to France and was presented on February 2nd 2020 at the HIP OPEN DANCE Festival in Lille, thus marking the end of this adventure.

THE TEAM

Choreographer: Ford “The Mov3r” Mckeown Larose
Dancers who participated in the project (in alphabetical order): Rose “Kutz” Gabrielle Auguste, John Kelly Bastien, Taylor Catwell, Benoit Fareau-Gabourg, Minoutchy Jean, Romy Lacasse, Morganne Lavarenne, Abdel-Hanine Madini, Mukoma-K Nshinga, Amy Jessica Pilette, Basilio-Augusto Rabanal-Ayansen, Darianne Ramirez-Blanchette, Sacha Riendeau, Robert Soare, Roxane Tessier, Léonard Turgeon, Shanice Vincent
Production and communication management: Anaïs Gachet

This project benefited from a creation residency at the Chorégraphique O Vertigo Centre in 2018, and a creation residency as well as financial support from Studio 303 in 2019.

AmalGame est un projet de street dance du chorégraphe Ford Mckeown Larose rassemblant des danseurs et danseuses de Montréal de tout niveau, genre, âge et culture. Un défi chorégraphique visant à faire jaillir la cohésion du chaos.

Inspiré par l’effet papillon (ou théorie du chaos), le projet a vu le jour en 2017 et a continué d’évoluer au gré des battements d’ailes et des tornades qu’il générait. AmalGame 2.0 était une œuvre en constante mutation mettant en scène des street dancers donnant vie, par leurs mouvements, à une créature chorégraphique évolutive.

ÉTAPES CLEFS D’AMALGAME 

En septembre 2017, après plusieurs mois de travail en collaboration avec le studio UEZ, une première version du projet est présentée au Festival Quartiers Danses. Il rassemble alors 11 danseurs et danseuses de 10 à 30 ans. La pièce remporte le Prix de la meilleure création extérieure du Festival.

En 2018, une courte résidence de création au Centre Chorégraphique O Vertigo permet de faire évoluer la pièce pour l’adapter en salle avec 6 interprètes. Cette version : AmalGame 2.0 est présentée en mai de la même année au Festival Vue sur la Relève.

AMALGAME 2.0

En 2019, AmalGame 2.0 se poursuit avec 5 interprètes. Une année charnière pour le projet, durant laquelle le chorégraphe et les interprètes travailleront plusieurs mois notamment sur des techniques de waving, mais aussi sur la dramaturgie. En juin, l’équipe passe une semaine de résidence au Studio 303 et présente quelques extraits dans le quartier Saint-Michel : à l’événement Rayons d’Artistes organisé par l’arrondissement, à la TOHU pendant la FALLA et à la Maison d’Haïti. En décembre 2019, une toute nouvelle version du projet est présentée au MAI (Montréal Arts Interculturels) dans le cadre de l’événement MAD organisé par la compagnie en collaboration avec 100Lux.

Le projet s’est envolé pour la France et a été présenté le 2 février 2020 au Festival HIP OPEN DANCE à Lille, marquant ainsi la fin de cette aventure.

L’ÉQUIPE 

Chorégraphe: Ford Mckeown Larose
Danseurs et danseuses ayant participé au projet (par ordre alphabétique): Rose Gabrielle Auguste, John Kelly Bastien, Taylor Catwell, Benoit Fareau-Gabourg, Minoutchy Jean, Romy Lacasse, Morganne Lavarenne, Abdel-Hanine Madini, Mukoma-K Nshinga, Amy Jessica Pilette, Basilio-Augusto Rabanal-Ayansen, Darianne Ramirez-Blanchette, Sacha Riendeau, Robert Soare, Roxane Tessier, Léonard Turgeon, Shanice Vincent
Direction de production et communication: Anaïs Gachet

Ce projet a bénéficié d’une résidence de création au Centre Chorégraphique O Vertigo en 2018, et d’une résidence de création ainsi qu’un soutien financier de la part de Studio 303 en 2019.